The Erie Canal Museum is celebrating over 50 years as the official museum of the Erie Canal by sharing their historic photograph and manuscript collections on New York Heritage Digital Collections. The only surviving weighlock of seven located along the New York State Canal System, the Museum building once housed the offices of weighmasters and New York State Barge Canal Engineers. The building continues its role today as steward of the rich history of New York’s canals. Come explore our collections at 318 Erie Boulevard East, Syracuse, NY.
The images made available here are intended to provide insight into the lives of those who worked on the Erie Canal from the 1820’s to the 1930’s, from the early days of canal enlargement to the industrial age of the Barge Canal. Highlights include original affidavits and receipts generated by weighmasters and the Canal Commissioner’s Office, and photographs of lifeguards, engineers, and shippers.